Football Fest STYLE

Yerevan Wine Days 2024

National Singer

Stylish Faces: Astghik Safaryan STYLE STYLE STYLE STYLE STYLE

Chloe Zhao wins Directors Guild of America Award for “Nomadland”

15:05, April 11

Director Chloe Zhao won the top prize at the 73rd annual Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards for “Nomadland,” Variety reported.

Zhao is only the second woman, and the first woman of color, to earn the top DGA Award, after Kathryn Bigelow won for 2009’s “The Hurt Locker.”

Accepting, like all the winners, over Zoom, Zhao used her entire speech to pay heartfelt tribute to each of her fellow nominees.

With his win for first-time feature film, “Sound of Metal” director Darius Marder continued the Amazon Studios film’s ascendant awards season run.

Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw won the documentary award for the Sony Pictures Classics film “The Truffle Hunters.”

Susanna Fogel won the first award of the night, for TV comedy for directing the premiere episode of HBO Max’s “The Flight Attendant.”

Lesli Linka Glatter won the TV drama award for the final season of Showtime’s “Homeland.”

Scott Frank won the TV movie and limited series award for directing every episode of the Netflix limited series “The Queen’s Gambit.”

Amy Schatz took home the award for children’s programs for HBO’s “We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest.”

Joseph Guidry won the reality TV award for HBO Max’s “Full Bloom” for the episode “Petal to the Metal.”

Melina Matsoukas won the commercials award for a Bests by Dr. Dre advertisement.

Don Roy King won his sixth consecutive Variety/Talk/News/Sports series award for “Saturday Night Live,” for the episode hosted by Dave Chappelle.

DGA president Thomas Schlamme won the Variety/Talk/News/Sports Specials award for “A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote.”

Prolific TV director and former DGA president Paris Barclay accepted the honorary life membership award.

Betty Thomas accepted the Robert B. Aldrich achievement award, for her extraordinary service to the DGA and its members.

Brian E. Frankish earned the Frank Capra achievement award, which honors assistant directors and unit production managers.

And associate director Joyce Thomas—who survived a life-threatening battle with COVID-19—earned the Franklin J. Schaffner achievement award, which honors associate directors and stage managers.

Photo by Joshua James Richards

Follow STYLE on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

  • Related News


  • Archive